What You Need to Know about Georgia’s New Hands-Free Law

The intent of the law is to prohibit distracted driving and encourage technology-free travelling throughout the state.

Here are some things you can’t do while driving:

  • Hold or support any wireless telecommunication device with any part of the body.
  • Write, send, or read texting of any kind in the form of text message, instant message, email or internet data.
  • Watch a video or movie on a wireless telecommunication device.
  • Record or broadcast video footage.
  • Get out of the seat or remove the seat belt to reach for device.

What you can do:

  • Use earpieces, headphones, or Apple Watch to talk.
  • Use voice recognition (like “Hey Siri” or “OK Google”) to text, email, instant message, etc.
  • Use Maps application and GPS, which includes entering location information while driving.
  • Use one button to activate voice recognition.
  • Use devices such as: “radio, CB radio, CB radio hybrid, commercial two way radio, subscription based emergency communication device, prescribed medical device, amateur/ ham radio device, in-vehicle security and navigation, or remote diagnostics system.”

If you care caught breaking the law the first offense is a fine up to $50 and one point on your license. A second offense within a two-year period is a fine up to $100 and two points on your license. And if you get a third offense within a two-year period, it is a $150 fines and three points on your license.

The new law doesn’t apply to police, firefighters or emergency medical personnel. Under the law, you can use your phone to report car accident, medical emergency, fire, personal injury, crime or road condition that is a hazard. Utility service workers are exempt from the law if they are responding to a utility emergency.

You may use your phone if you are lawfully parked, not just stopped in traffic.

Georgia Office of Highway Safety

Similar Posts